Guest reviews

guestbook541x541Reviews with ♡♡♡♡♡ independently collected by Stayz & Take a Break.
Whaleback Cottage – opened May 2014.
Tor Cottage – opened July 2009, renovated Sept 2014. Sorry, Tor Cottage no longer has a spa.
The Shearing Shed – opened 2009, closed 2012. We decided to live in it instead.

Thank you for a memorable stay. We enjoyed a lot. Hope to come again. With love & regards.
Rinu & Sree, Sydney – Oct 2014 Tor Cottage

I LOVE this place. You have created something truly beautiful and fitting amongst this powerful granite country. Thank yo. It is a treasure. Beautifully and thoughtfully appointed.

Many thanks for welcoming my hounds. Much appreciated. We will be back.
Fran, Tas – Sep 2014 Whaleback Cottage


Thank you! Your cottage is absolutely beautiful, stunning design. I love the shower – I seriously LOVE IT – the stone & timber & shower head combo is just perfect. The product range you have selected is divine. All the craftsmanship is outstanding and I adore the celtic influence, again beautiful.

We had an amazing honeymoon. PERFECT. Thankyou.
C & L, QLD – Sep 2014 Whaleback Cottage


There are so many great things to say about our stay in Whaleback Cottage. The cottage itself is a little bit rustic but at the same time very modern and comfortable. It is really we set up with everything from cutlery through to condiments and tea and coffee better than most places. It’s private but also very accessible with great views just half a minute away.

The walks are great. Very well marked and the topo map provided has the tracks marked really well. It would be very hard to get lost. The scenery, wildlife and views make for a very enjoyable times and we’ve been able to get some great photos.

We can highly recommend this place for a stress-free getaway.
Allan & Shelly, QLD – Sep 2014 Whaleback Cottage


We (1 couple + dog) stopped off at Tor Cottage for 2 nights on the long drive back to Sydney for FNQ and so glad we did so. As you can see from the pictures the building is located on a rocky outcrop on a hill overlooking the owners property. We were met upon arrival by the owner and directed to the cottage.  We drove the further couple of hundred metres to the cottage and were blown away by the view, the location and the quality of the structure. Sitting in the spa as the sunset over the farm was so relaxing. The next day we explored the property on an exhausting 3 hour hike. We loved this place.
Matt, NSW – Sept 2014 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡


It was peaceful,serene,extremely comfortable, private and on our return wish list.
David, QLD – Aug 2014 Whaleback Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡


We absolutely loved our time up there! Being able to see the stars from the spa but still be sheltered from the cold was the best. Loved the walk via Kissing Rock and Boulder Springs. I’d recommend any visitors at least trek up to Kissing Rock, just between there and the cottage we saw a lyrebird and a flock of yellow tailed black cockatoos.

It has been a long while since I’ve been able to take a midday nap, but after our walk we enjoyed some champagne and nibbles on the deck and afterwards I fell asleep in the warmth of the sun, it was bliss.

Everything was perfect, especially the little touches. You might wonder if things like the paper towel folded to fit inside the little utensil tray is even noticed let alone appreciated, but it is 🙂
Jillian, NSW – Aug 2014 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡


Perfect place to spend a rainy weekend. Everything was well maintained We really enjoyed ourselves and will be back. ☺
Fiona, NSW – Aug 2014 Whaleback Cottage


Thank you so much for a wonderfully relaxing stay! The peace & quiet and amazing scenery were magical. If we could have stayed a week, we would have. The cottage was so cosy, and had everything we needed, a home away from home ☺
J & J, Vic – July 2014 Tor Cottage


Beautiful location. Quiet and away from all the noise. Comfortable living space all in all a wondering and relaxing getaway. We were well provided for, never running out of wood to keep the fire going and easy to understand instructions. Thank you for a wonderful holiday!
A & J, QLD – June 2014 Tor Cottage


So peaceful & relaxing, you feel as though you are a million miles from anywhere. Our doggy loved the walking tracks and snuggling by the warm fire. Great shower, great to have a well-stocked kitchen. Highlight: sunset & stars!!

Thanks so much, it has been beautiful.
Jen & Ben, QLD – April 2014 Tor Cottage


Fabulous place! Wonderful location – great introduction to Aussie bush landscape, roos included, for someone on their first visit from UK.
Susie & Nicky, NSW/UK – Feb 2014 Tor Cottage


The views are amazing. Who needs TV when you can watch such amazing sunsets and listen to amazing birdsong. Kissing Rock is a hidden wonder. Anketell Forest and its valleys are indeed a treasure and it is a must for visitors to make the effort to walk the trails as there is a picture around every bend. The ‘twitching’ list was great and proved to be a good tool.

Thank you for helping make our Christmas a delight!
Suzanne & Robert, NSW – Dec 2013 Tor Cottage


Love the cottage and surroundings. Beautiful sunsets, very good trail walks. Peaceful & relaxing.
Stan & Jan, SA – Nov 2013 Tor Cottage


We stepped inside & we don’t want to leave. Absolutely amazing! The views, the sunset, the peace, quiet & tranquility take your breath away!
Mark & Mat, Qld – Nov 2013 Tor Cottage


Absolutely beautiful, I believe we have found our home away from home. Thank you, we’ll be back.
John & Alicia, NSW – Oct 2013 Tor Cottage


This is a truly wonderful well-appointed cottage in a magnificent setting. To have been able to take a walk in the natural surroundings, accompanied by ‘roos & kookaburras & to return to a relaxing spa in, by then, a chilly evening was luxury indeed. We were delighted to have such a variety of teas and coffees to warm us in the evenings and mornings and it was lovely to watch the early sun creep onto the deck.
R & F, NZ – Oct 2013 Tor Cottage


We had the most enjoyable stay in Tor Cottage. Loved all the walks. Loop ‘A’ we thought the best. The position of the cottage is very private, peaceful & quiet. We hope to come back and walk Loop ‘B’ again as we missed the track to Eagle Rock. We found the cottage had everything we needed. Thank you very much.
Wayne & Robin, Qld – Sept 2013 Tor Cottage


Really loved the short stay we had. Will be back again for a longer stay. Loved the peace and quiet. Will let all our friends know how beautiful this place is. Ü Thank you.
Alec & Jay, QLD – Sept 2013 Tor Cottage


Perfect 4 day holiday with our puppies – Murph & Maisie. Being our first family holiday together this was the perfect place to come! Cold mornings, blue sky days, even rainy day spent inside watching DVD & keeping warm by the fire. Ended of each day with a spa and watching the clouds roll by with a wine at the bar. We aimed for a sunset photo )canvas print for our home as a reminder of our holiday) but didn’t get it so we will have to be back again. Thanks for sharing your perfect spot & great cabin. Love it. So jealous.
Jodie & Greg, NSW – Aug 2013 Tor Cottage


This is our second visit to the cottage and we have enjoyed it as much as we did before. The night sky here is incredible. We set up a digital SLR and captured an 8hr time-lapse of the milky-way moving through the sky. The wood-fire and hot spa made for a very cozy atmosphere. Thank you for the tea provided the rain drinking water and constant supply of firewood. This is our second visit to the cottage and we have enjoyed it as much as we did before. This time we explored Anketell Forest and found an amazing outcrop of granite where we enjoyed spectacular views and a packed lunch. Will be back again.
Y & J, NSW – Aug 2013 Tor Cottage


This place is sooo well thought out. Lighting is great, lots of hanging space, kitchen is small but very functional. BBQ area is excellent and I would prepare meals on the bench outside and admire the scenery! Spa has great ventilation and towel racks in front of the fire ensure quick drying. Absolutely love it … don’t change a thing! We’ll be back!

Peta & Steve, Qld – July 2013 Tor Cottage


Once again we had an amazing stay, so peaceful and relaxing. Thank you.
Kelly & Paul, NSW – May 2013 Tor Cottage


Stunning, surreal, perfect, absolute magic! Everything about this place from the surrounding bush, the craftsmanship that has gone into the cottage, the service is just beyond words. The love and craftsmanship is felt throughout the cottage. There is no other like it. Thank you so very much.
Richard & Felice, Qld – May 2013 Tor Cottage


The cottage is cosy & comfy & provides everything you need, plus a few nice little extras. The views are superb and the location of the cottage and property provide a great base for exploring the New England region. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return again soon.
Jodie, Qld – April 2013 Tor Cottage


Thank you for a lovely few days. Tor Cottage is delightful. So peaceful and scrupulously clean. We really enjoyed our stay despite the grey skies. Our 4 legged friend Harri loved it too. He was particularly impressed with the rabbits, roos and farmyard animal smells.
Don’t change a thing. Perfect as is! See you again soon!
Don & June, Vic – April 2013 Tor Cottage


The Good: Arriving in the pouring rain to a warm, dry cottage with fire ready to go; well stocked plus more; peaceful & private; easy access; beautiful setting; gorgeous cottage; bird heaven. The Bad: Had to leave; didn’t get flooded in.
Rob & Sue, NSW – March 2013 Tor Cottage


Our main reason for coming to the Tenterfield region was to climb Bald Rock. We were attracted to Anketell Forest mainly for the walks that were offered on the property. We weren’t disappointed! We saw a Superb Lyrebird which is a real highlight for us ‘birders’. The walk to Kissing Rock was impressive and we really enjoyed the other walks we did. Tor Cottage was very cozy and comfy. Thanks!
Sue & Joe, Qld – Feb 2013 Tor Cottage


We loved our stay in your perfect country hide-out. Spotless throughout, comfy bed and great hand made fittings. Hope to be back soon! RELAXED RELAXED RELAXED!
Heather & Graham, Qld – Feb 2013 Tor Cottage


Peace, quiet, rest, tranquility. The remoteness of Tor Cottage provides all of these in abundance. We loved the bushwalks on the clearly defined trails and enjoyed the rugged beauty in doing so. The rustic little cottage was comfortable and well equipped and the large outdoor deck area was a great place to relax and enjoy eating dinner as the sun set. We greatly enjoyed our time here. Would like to come again, perhaps a winter visit – imagine it would be beautiful in a different way then.
Don, Qld – Jan 2013 Tor Cottage


Thankyou. Serenity Wow. Isolated, tranquil and peaceful. Lovely place. Would recommend.
Jim, NSW – Jan 2013 Tor Cottage


This is one of the most amazing places. tranquil, private and relaxing. You can be energetic and go walking or just lay around and relax.
Robert, NSW – Dec 2012 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡

 
Thank you for a lovely stay at the Cottage. We loved it and really were sad to leave – 6 days was not enough. We loved the cosy, homey feeling of the cottage, the ever changing views from the deck, the walks in the forest, the sound of nature to wake up to, and fall asleep on. Cycling in the area was great too! Lots of endless gravel roads with hardly any cars through farmland and nature reserves. We will mention your place for anyone looking for a little paradise.
Ian, NSW – Dec 2012 Tor Cottage


Five days relaxing in the seclusion of Anketell Forest is a great way to unwind. Tor Cottage is well set-up and the handmade timber furniture and interior fittings add to the ambience.
Three best things:
– watching the changing view from the deck … while drinking a beer.
– cooling down in the spa bath
– bushwalking & seeing wildlife.
Joy & Martin, NSW – Nov 2012 Tor Cottage


Beautiful location, country side is spectacular and views match. Two days is not enough to explore the property properly. Excellent accommodation and pleasant, tranquil setting. Congratulations! – Peter
The “essentials” were well set up – range of teas etc, real milk. Enjoyed the mix of DVD & CD. Peter especially enjoyed the read about Bolivia Station (even though he usually doesn’t read). LOVE the cottage and setting. So quiet & Peaceful. Thank you so much for sharing for just a little while. – Desleigh.
Peter & Desleigh NSW – Oct 2012 Tor Cottage


Fantastic again! Great walking, lots of peace & quiet, lots of animals to see and such a comfy cabin.
I find it very hard to leave! Thank you.
Sue, QLD – Oct 2012 Tor Cottage


We love how Tor Cottage is set high on a hill and incorporated into the amazing granite rocks that are so much a part of the landscape here. Eco-friendly with furniture built on the property by Steve and quality inclusions. We had an utterly private relaxing three days and enjoyed our bush walks and bird watching.
Pete, QLD – Oct 2012 Tor Cottage


Simply said, paradise. From many aspects – practical as well as romantic.
First, the website. Lots of useful info down to details like, not only self contained but with the list what exactly is included in the kitchen. Brilliant.

Then when arriving friendly hosts are always available with advice about area. Cottage is situated with some distance from main house, closer to workshop where during the day you can hear working noise but not too disturbing. Beautiful view from the terrace.

Inside cottage- Huge, comfortable bed, tv/dvd with impressive library of dvds and books which should suit almost everyone. There is also sofa to rest and outside daybed on the terrace.

You can stay in the cottage or walk different walks around (with the map given by hosts). Overall very well prepared and enjoyable. Highly recommended.”
Urszula, Qld – Sep 2012 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡


The huge property is amazing. Living in Queensland we rarely get to see that sort of landscape. We went to the region to fossick, but spent lots of time walking around and exploring the property. Our dogs had an absolute ball too.
Jessica, Qld – Aug 2012 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡


We really enjoyed our stay. The fire was amazing. Thank you for continuously supplying us with timber. The cottage is beautiful and it is a credit to both of you.
Yiwen & Jono, Qld – Aug 2012 Tor Cottage

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We have enjoyed Tor Cottage immensely. Very romantic with the fireplace, spa and bed all in the same room. It has been a great place to come ‘home’ to as it is quite central for exploring the area. This has been a part honeymoon for us and it has been a delight. Thank you.

PS: we saw the new cottage being built. Looks amazing!
Bri & Ness, NSW – July 2012 Tor Cottage


“As we stayed in July, it as extremely cold! The wood fire was super efficient and kept us warm all night as temps dropped to almost -10! Kitchen very well supplied (I’m in love with Scanpans now), and the spa was wonderful 🙂
Vanessa, Qld – July 2012 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡


Location, location location! Says it all! The rock art creativity by other guest was inspirational – loved all the cairns – had fun leaving my ‘monument’. Real coffee is a great treat in accommodation. Thank you for your Anketell Forest body products – very nice.
JB, Qld – June 2012 Tor Cottage


What an amazingly beautiful, tranquil and relaxing place. Gorgeous facility, fantastic cottage and amenities and the view, wow!
AJ, Qld – April 2012 Tor Cottage


I have so enjoyed my stay here. The Cottage had everything I needed and more. The walking is fantastic and most of all the sense of being far away from everything and everyone was so wonderful. I’ll be back again when it gets colder!
Sue, Qld – April 2012 Tor Cottage


We had the most wonderful relaxing 3 days. The cottage is so comfortable and the view from the deck is fantastic. It was so nice to bring our dog Beau and feel so safe and secure He loved wandering around the property with us. The privacy is great and once here you don’t want to leave. We will be back!
Suzie, NSW – March 2012 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡


“We have been close to heaven these past 2 days and that confirms my husband’s incessant research into “holiday”/travel accommodation in every corner of the world. He’s very good at this endeavour). We have both needed the sounds and sights of peaceful and tranquil environment… it is about 7pm and we are truly blessed by no other sounds than those whose environment we are (temporarily) invading! Your accommodation is superb … nothing needed other than some coffee, wine & food. Thanks!
Jude, NSW – March 2012 Tor Cottage


“Stayed for a night for some long over-due recharging! What a perfect isolated spot! Attention to detail was fantastic… everything I needed was here.
Jill, NSW – March 2012 Tor Cottage


“We had a lovely time! It was a peaceful relaxing weekend and had everything here that we needed. From books to films to music. The spa bath was awesome. Loved it!
Adam, NSW – March 2012 Tor Cottage


“A magical place to stay and get away from it all. A very comfortable, stylish cabin with everything we needed. Thank you, we’ll be back.
Paul, NSW – March 2012 Tor Cottage


“Seclusion
Narissa, NSW – February 2012 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡


“Lovely setting – very relaxing. Perfect!
Jill, Vic – February 2012 Tor Cottage


“The pictures don’t do this place justice, amazing accommodation, with so much atmosphere. We were delighted on arrival, to see that it more than lived up to our long-held desire to visit. Kerri is an absolute treasure and very welcoming. Well worth the trip from Brisbane. It took all our willpower to get off the deck and leave on Sunday and we can’t wait to go back and have a few more drinks around the bonfire. Next time – 2 nights for sure.”
Karen, Mark, Rian & Wendy, Qld – Jan 2012 The Shearing Shed


“A magical setting for relaxation of mind and body. The Cottage and furniture a testament to Steve’s superb woodworking skills. Wonderful to have a ‘pet friendly’ environment to stay in on top of the world so close to nature. We enjoyed our stay immensely and our Bigpond mobile and laptop worked!
Marg & John, QLD – January 2012 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“Wonderful to sit on the deck of Tor Cottage and watch the sun set over the hills. Thank you for picking such a great site!
Andrew, QLD – January 2012 Tor Cottage


“Magic place you have here! Comfy bed allowed for deep sweet dreams and we watched a dvd from the spa last night. Perfect!
Jess, QLD – December 11 Tor Cottage


“It was great to be able to take my cats to such a quiet secluded place. The Cottage was very comfortable and relaxing. The highlight was seeing the stars from the spa. All was great.
Ivan, NSW – December 11 Tor Cottage


“Thanks for a lovely relaxing stay in your Cottage! We had a lovely time. Saw a lyrebird this morning near the bottlebrush lined gully. We will be back!
Michelle & Alan, NSW – December 11 Tor Cottage


“Loved it! Beautiful little dwelling. The dogs have never been more relaxed on holiday. It’s a beautiful spot.
Stephanie, NSW – December 11 Tor Cottage


Would just like to thank you for a beautiful stay, loved the peace and tranquility, would definitely recommend you and hopefully be back one day. Steve, loved all you work you have done and would have loved to have taken some back to NZ, very artistic. Many thanks.”
Barry & Glennis, NZ – Oct 11 The Shearing Shed


“This is the perfect place to unwind and recharge. The privacy and seclusion just made us forget about the world around us and for those three days, we could just find ourselves again. It is an amazing experience, will worth every cent! “
Kevin, NSW – October 11 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡


“What a beautiful spot. We loved our three night stay here. Our two dogs loved it just as much. we would love to go back again. “
Kimberley, QLD – August 11 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡


“Just wanted to drop you a line to let you know we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Tor Cottage on Tuesday night. It’s a great little spot you have down there and Tor Cottage has everything we could ask for in our getaway.

We were a little unsure if we should light the fire that night as it was quite warm early on. We are glad we did though as it was a fresh morning.

We also loved laying outside and gazing up at the stars!! It is amazing how much clearer things are away from the city!

The dogs had a great time there as well.

Anyway… thanks again for hosting us at Tor Cottage. We will definitely be back in the future.”
Daniel & Shannon, QLD – August 11 Tor Cottage


“The isolation and the the country side its very peaceful and there is no phone or TV so you can get completely away from everything. “
Kate, NSW – August 11 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡


“Private and peaceful. “
Thea, NSW – July 11 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡


“What a beautiful slice of coutryside. My only regret was that we really didn’t get to take full advantage of everything on offer due to my partner’s dislocated knee. Steve made sure we were comfortable. The cottage is a great place to relax and unwind and the scenery is spectacular. “
Saul & Aly, QLD – July ’11 Tor Cottage ♡♡♡♡♡


“We loved everything about our stay at Tor Cottage. The cabin has everything we needed and more. The surrounding granite rock formations are stunning. I have recommended this place to our friends for really recharging the batteries. We will be back next year. “
Joanne, NSW – June 11 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“After a 4 nights stay with my wife and my dog with pleasure I am happy to say what a beautiful location and what an excellent bush engineered cottage Steve and Kerry have designed and built. We spent a wonderful time exploring, painting, reading and relaxing in the spar. With the cold night of winter outside our door we were reposed in tranquillity in the comfort of our log fire fuelled warmth. I was also impressed by the mix of books on the shelf, for the first time I actually read a few. Lovely hosts, giving you the freedom of privacy and friendly sociability. “
Julian, VIC – June 11 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“Location and privacy. This is our second visit to this property and we plan to return again next year. “
Julie, QLD -May ’11 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“We had the most wonderful, relaxing and romantic long weekend at Tor Cottage and have raved about it to everyone since getting back. The cottage was cosy, very clean and comfortable, and the spa and fireplace were fantastic! As other reviewers have mentioned, the stars at night are a sight to behold. Absolute privacy, peace, quiet, clean air and the beautiful view to hills in the distance create a perfect setting for a perfect weekend. We can’t wait to go back! “
Paul, Qld, May ’11 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“My wife and I have just had 5 wonderful nights at Tor Cottage. Just so perfect for my wife who is recovering from surgery.We would highly recommend a stay here for anyone. “
John, Qld, April ’11 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“Great property – enormous space, very atmospheric and excellent setting with good views. Very well equipped kitchen. A genuinely honky-tonk piano. Bring warm clothes in winter but having a well-stocked fire was lovely.”
Gavin, Qld, Feb ’11The Shearing Shed


“Beautiful views, so peaceful “
Caroline, NSW, Feb ’11 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“Our stay at ‘Tor Cottage’ was an experience that we will never forget. Amongst the tranquillity and peace, the wildlife and scenery, we experienced a relaxation like no other. The stars at night were like diamonds, you could pluck them out of the sky they seemed so close and so many.

We had privacy, comfort and rest which is what we needed. Tor Cottage is the most snuggle place I have been to and we do holiday in a lot of retreat places. It is so well built with the organisation of everything you need, the woodwork is fantastic.

Our dogs Zeus and Roxy had the best holiday ever Zeus thinks he is a Dingo now from running around the bush. I am sure they miss it too I have never seen them play so much together.

Steve – how lucky are you to be living in such a wonderful area. We would like to thank you for giving us this opportunity and experiences we will hold in our memory bank. Oh and thanks for the lovely fresh rosemary and the lovely scented Lemon Myrtle hand soap you had there – wonderful.”
Cindra, NSW, Jan ’11 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“Steve has gone to a lot of trouble to make you feel very comfortable in the way they have built & equiped the cottage. It is so totally private & serene. “
Peta, NSW, Oct ’10 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“Self contained and thoughtfully designed. Great breakfasts that do brekkie and lunch. Wildlife at your doorstep and dogs welcome. Trails throughout the property for walks through the beautiful countryside. Friendly efficient service without being intrusive. Thanks for a great 3 days. “
Kath, NSW, Sept ’10 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“Arriving under a star-filled sky, we entered the wonderfully inviting, secluded cottage, and were instantly charmed by it’s roaring fire. The quiet bush setting, along with it’s great vista, was just as we might have hoped, topped off with a feeling of privacy that’s often lost when looking to get away.

Walks in the surrounding bush revealed impressive granite boulders, beautiful wildflowers, towering gums and birdlife all around.

Tired limbs were overcome by indulging in the welcoming spa, a glass of wine in hand, as we planned our return to Tor Cottage! “
Victoria, ACT, Aug ’10 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“We liked the privacy. We loved the cottage – great layout and very reasonably priced. Great location and a variety of interesting places to visit nearby. Overall a truly relaxing week-end. Perfect. Looking forward to a return visit.”
Julie, QLD, Aug ’10 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“Our hosts were friendly and very helpful. The Shearing Shed can be quite cold in low temperatures, but they kept us supplied with wood and we enjoyed our fireside meals. The hiking is wonderful and varied, lots of kangaroos and feral pigs about. Our stay was a great combination of active walks and relaxing time on the two fantastic decks. We would love to return with friends and/or family. “
Susan, NSW, Aug ’10 The Shearing Shed


“The cottage is just so lovely and perfectly equiped. The spa and the fireplace make it the best place for a winter hide away. The couple who owns the property are really nice and helpful while respecting the privacy. It was great and exceeding our expectations by far. The forest itself is beautiful and with no one else around it was the best place to relax I can possibly imagine.”
Elli, NSW, Aug ’10 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“So private and quiet. Great atmosphere. Lovely little cabin. Would love to return for another weekend getaway! “
Evita, QLD, Aug ’10 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“Total relaxation and fun. We usualy catch up with our family on the coast but decided to head inland for something different and we are so happy we discovered The Shearing Shed. So good not to have TV. We loved Steve’s playlists and sound system. We cooked some lovely meals in the well equiped kitchen and slept well in the lovely bedrooms. Could have quite easily spent a week there instead of 3 nights but we will definatly go back. “
Judy, NSW, April ’10 The Shearing Shed


“The best feature of Tor cottage is the absolute serenity of the place. The cottage was immaculate yet comfortable and welcoming. The managers are great to deal with and while respecting privacy were there the moment you needed anything.”
James, QLD, Jul ’10 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“We were very happy we could bring our Cavalier King Charles, Bailey for the weekend to Tor Cottage. Breakfast for two was great for our Anniversary. As it is a great family place, bushwalking, birdwatching etc, we would like to return one day with the grandchildren and families.”
Neal & Val, QLD, Apr ’10 Tor Cottage


“Really lovely place. So peaceful. We enjoyed it very much, thank you.
Great work from the carpenter too! “
Colin, NSW, Mar ’10 Tor Cottage


“Thank you! It was an absolutely wonderful evening in a beautiful space! Very unique and relaxing. “
Tamara, NSW, Mar ’10Tor Cottage


“My family loved staying at The Shearing Shed, so beautiful, scenic views from all rooms, verandahs to sit out on, kitchen with everything you could need, plenty of comfy places to sit all with their own views and ambience, hand made gorgeous furniture, music, space, what more could you ask for. We were only there for an afternoon, night and morning, but it was very lovely space to hang out in, plenty of things to grab your attention, meditate on, would love to stay longer. Next time.”
Leanne, NSW, Feb ’10The Shearing Shed


“Just a quick note to say thank you so much for an absolutely fantastic weekend. It was a perfect “Valentine’s Day” Escape.

We had the best time, so quiet and secluded – time to just be together. We enjoyed our walks, loved the spa; lunch and breakfast on the deck, glass of wine while we watched the sunset – and Tyson (the puppy) had the best time of all – he ran for miles and slept like a log at night.

Can’t wait till we can come again and relax in your beautiful cottage – we just love it – we will certainly tell our friends and family what a special spot you have there.”
Joy & Mark, Qld, Feb ’10 Tor Cottage


“Thank you so much. This is a great place to stay. We will be telling friends and family and coming back for sure. “
Brad & Bec, NSW, Jan ’10 Tor Cottage


“This is an ideal place to stay to get away from everything. Peaceful location, lovely cottage, would recommend the walks and the breakfast. An ideal take a break”
Pam, Qld, Dec ’09 Tor Cottage


“We enjoyed a relaxing three day break in this private, peaceful and picturesque hideaway. Tor Cottage is comfortable and spotless. Thank you for your hospitality and for allowing our four legged friend to enjoy Anketell too.”
Vikki and Udo, Qld, Nov ’09 Tor Cottage


“Hi Steve,

We had a beautiful time here in your beautiful cottage.This place was a great find! It’s very peaceful here and we’ve really been able to relax. Thanks for your wonderful hospitality.
Olga and Serguei, Sydney, NSW Oct ’09 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“Great country, great views and a warm & welcoming cottage (sometimes too warm – but that’s a pyromaniac 4yr old for you!). We will be back!”
Angela, Peter, Annaliese & Elsa, NSW Sept ’09 Tor Cottage


“Very well fitted out with kitchen items etc and very comfortable and clean.”
John and Paula, QLD Sep ’09 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“We love what you are doing to the place. You have done a great job. Nature has added the final touch! Out of our week away from home we loved you place the best!”
Paddy, Niki & Eamon, Qld Aug ’09 Tor Cottage


“We stayed for three nights with our spoilt rottie-xxs and they gave the place the paws up. It’s not often that you get access to beautiful natural bushland with wildlife and wild flowers and share the experience with your faithful hounds. We walked Anketell for hours and the dogs never tired of sniffing for scents and staring in amazement at the huge walleroos. Late afternoons were spent on the decking surveying the big horizon and watching the sun set with a few home brews to mellow out the day.. We thoroughly enjoyed the lack of TV and mobile coverage and fell asleep to the sounds of silence disturbed only by the crickets.

The cabin was snug and cosy and the mattress and pillows get 10/10 for comfort. We brought all our own food as we were doubtful about local food options (esp for the vego) but found the fridge a little small so were glad we brought the esky. Kerri and Steve were laid back hosts and we liked the feeling that they were there if needed, but not in your face. Highly recommended for a few days away from the rat race and we’ll definitely be back. “
Darlene, NSW August ’09 Tor Cottage♡♡♡♡♡


“A wonderful place to stay. Lovely and cozy. Large spa and wood fire place with plenty of wood. Big property with huge rock formations and plenty to see. Owners very friendly an helpful. Very affordable. I wished I could have stayed longer.”
Mathew, NSW July ’09 Tor Cottage


Book Now | Contact  | Directions | Gallery | Guest ReviewsThings to do | Visit New England